Screenshot of tabs.split.pet tiled diagonally

The live tab counter returns

268 words (2 min)

 | 

The live tab counter is (finally) back, now available at tabs.split.pet.

The customized fork of the tab-counter extension I use now uses a WebSocket for new tabs instead of sending a new HTTP request for every tab. Originally, I was planning to rewrite the tab-counter extension for this; but I got lazy, so it’s still just a sloppy fork. Too bad, I guess.

Using a WebSocket also means that devices can have online/offline states. The potential for the tab count to be inaccurate is now reflected in the form of a gray question mark appended to the tab count which is displayed when any device is offline.

As for hosting: it’s been moved from my PC to Miyo, a Raspberry Pi Zero 2 W, where it runs in a Docker container and is tunneled via Cloudflare. Why not just use Durable Objects? 1. I’m lazy, and 2. I didn’t feel like paying for Workers.

Oh, and finally: it has a button now, if you’d like to add it.

split's live tab counter

Do note that it is an SVG (for obvious reasons). For most people, I don’t think this matters, but it is something to take into account if you do decide to add it to your site for.. some reason. Also, hotlink the image so that it’ll autoupdate! 🙃

If you’d like, feel free to also just link this button to my site. I don’t really care that much.

This is probably a good point to wrap up this post. It’s 03:00 (05:00 since I’m traveling, actually), so I should probably sleep. Good night. Or good morning. I don’t fucking know